ICSE Modern Indian History, Contemporary World & Civics Class- X

ICSE Modern Indian History, Contemporary World & Civics Class- X

SKU: JBJG00035

Chapter 1 highlights the fact that the Indian Union today consists of 28 States and 9 Union Territories. The Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act bifurcated the State of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories: (a) Jammu and Kashmir, and (b) Ladakh. This Act came into force on 31 Octobrr, 2019. On the day, instead of one Governor for the entire State the two Union Territories had two Lt. Governors. 

Chapter 2 deals with the Union Executive.The Proposal to have a President directly elected by the voters was found neither feasible nor sound enough, because under a Parliamentary System of Government the  hri Ram Nath Kovind was administered the Oath of Office the President was required to act on the advice of the Union Council of Ministers with the Prime Minister at the Prime Minister at the head. Therefore, it would be an anomaly if the President is to be elected directly by the people and is not given any real power.

Chapter 3 dwells on the fact that the BJP-led NDA Government was different from the previous Coalition Governments in as much as the BJP alone could secure 282 Lok Sabha seats in 2014 and the tally rose to 303 in 2019. Both 2014 and 2019 were truly "national elections" fought on the plank of a real "national message".

Chapter 4 deals with the necessity and functioning of a Supreme Court in a Federal Setup. In accordance with an Avt of 2019 the Supreme Court noe consists of the Cheif justics of India (CJI) and not more than "thirty-three" other judges.

  • Author

    B.B. Tayal, A. Jacob
  • Highlights

    Language : English

    Format : Paperback


    We ship pan india using reliable courier services like India Postal service - Express Parcel, TrackOn etc. The shipping is fast and reliable with trackable information provided.

  • Publisher

    Avichal Publishing Company
  • ISBN


  • Edition